My first microaneurysm

Today I saw the eye doctor for my yearly eye exam. It is important for diabetics to check for signs of diabetic retinopathy. This is a general term for all retina disorders caused by diabetes. Worst case scenario it can lead to blindness, but it is potentially treatable if diagnosed early.

For the first time ever, I have a small microaneurysm on one retina. My doctor assured me that it was quite small and is not a major issue. According to him most diabetics develop microaneurysms 15-20 years after diagnosis, even with good control (I just passed the 25 year mark last month). The American Diabetes Association website agrees, saying, “almost everyone with type 1 diabetes will eventually have nonproliferative retinopathy.”

microaneurysm

that little red dot is a first for me

This seems to be news that should be taken in stride and is nothing major to worry about. Still, it is a good reminder to keep those blood sugars in check and see your doctors regularly!

