ITP – ICM & PComp Final Project Concept

I have found an inspiring project that I’d like to tackle as a combined final project for both my Intro to Computational Media and Intro to Physical Computing class. It is a device that uses an Arduino and Processing to draw images on a wall.

It seems like these types of devices have been around since the mid 2000s, but only recently adapted to the Arduino by people like Der Kritzler and Drawbot.

Der Kritzler was designed to draw on glass

This drawing of Abraham Lincoln was done by Drawbot

So building another version of these items will certainly not be groundbreaking technology. The hardware set-up seems manageable for a beginner like me.

Nonetheless it will certainly be a helpful learning experience for me since I am rather inexperienced in the physical computing realm.

But I am also intrigued by the possibilities to add on to the concept once I get the basic foundation built. First, I would like to offer it up for use by the ITP community in a common area on the floor if possible. It could allow students to showcase their talent or to make announcements about upcoming events. It would be great to have a system of archiving what is produced and posting it online, or simply hooking up a camera for live viewing of the pen drawing. It could draw weekly, daily or hourly. Perhaps I could generate an online queue that would allow people to submit their work and have it draw when it is available or at a certain date & time. Perhaps the pen could also write comments from the community about the generated art. Perhaps the generated art could be on a whiteboard but the comments could be printed out on paper below. Perhaps there could be a way to integrate the feed with the laser cutter, silk screen or Makerbot 3D printer. Perhaps I can create a dock that can hold different colors or types of pens and cycle through them as needed in the drawing, escaping a mono-color approach.

Also, it would be good to explore a range of image processing options for translating a photo or SVG image into a drawing. Der Kritzler writes left to right, one line at a time. Others like SpritesMods version seem to draw with an assortment of up/down/left/right movements.

With my recently completed media controller project, we rushed to get all the pieces together in time for the deadline. I am hoping with this project that I can get the general outline of the device working a good week or two before the deadline so that I can spend more of my attention on these other style/output issues. This, along with the image submission/queueing, could help refine the product and make it more accessible for the user. I believe there is considerable value in these tweaks.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: DrawBot Resources and Links: Updated 2012/01/27 | MakerBlock
  2. Pingback: Drawbot prior art | Mambohead